Camelback Mountain, Phoenix

This was my first real hike out west after a hiatus of over 4 years.  I was laid off from my job in Orlando a couple of weeks before, and decided to check out Arizona and see what the job market was like.  While in Phoenix I could not resist climbing the obvious high-point of the city.  After being accustomed to desert hiking before moving to the southeast, I can say that living in the flatlands of Florida will definitely get you out of shape when you return to the habit!

Since it was a weekday, I was able to find a parking spot.  Apparently hiking during the weekends are atrocious, and easily believed it when I saw how many people were on the trail.  Despite that, the scenery was majestic.  My legs got the workout of their life!  There were times I thought I wasn’t able to make it, but seeing the old guys get ahead of me gave me enough motivation to make it to the top.  An emergency helicopter even made its rounds towards the summit and flew around a few times.  Needless to say, when I was finished I was sore from my feet to my hips.  Definitely was the kick in the pants I needed!  The view was great, and hope to make it back to the Phoenix area one of these days and climb a few more mountains when I get the chance!

Halloween, 2011

Phoenix, AZcamelback_topcamelback_landscape

Leave a Reply

